Top 5 Best Canon LGBT+ Characters In Media

My name is Drew and today I’m going to provide my top 5 favorite canon LGBT+ characters in media today! Characters also includes pairings (for instance, Ruby and Sapphire) as long as they’re canon.

There will be spoilers. Be warned.

Ok, let’s start!

5. Rain from Rain

bg92ftr32jM38.png

Rain is a great webcomic about a trans* girl trying to make it through high school with no one finding out that she’s Transgender. There are a number of LGBT characters but Rain is the only one I can really mention without too many spoilers. Rain is the youngest of three. She’s Transgender MtF. She’s an emotional character and quite feminine, too! She can be a little childish but she is only 17 years old, her frontal lobe hasn’t fully developed yet, so I give her a break, personally. I definitely suggest the Rain webcomic if you’re ever looking for a new comic to read!

4. Frisk from Undertale

Frisk_Render_By_Skodwarde-1.png

Ah, yes, Frisk, the gender neutral protagonist of the video game Undertale. In the game, they are constantly referred to with they/them pronouns and gender neutral terms such as “little buddy” and “kid.” Some people head-canon Frisk as a male or female but I just stick within the canon of Frisk being Nonbinary. Frisk is a great character, with their design that has relatively long hair yet still stays so gender neutral and their striped blue and pink onesie. Frisk is a great character, despite never actually saying anything (you can pick choices that imply Frisk is speaking, for instance telling Papyrus that you can make spaghetti, but you never actually see Frisk’s speech.)

3. Ruby and Sapphire from Steven Universe

Ruby_and_Sapphire_fusion_01.gif

Numerous times in the show, these two kiss and say they love each other. Honestly, these two make an adorable couple! The contrast between the calm, sometimes icy, blue Sapphire and the passionate, sometimes fiery, red Ruby is very fun to watch! The two characters interact adorably and I honestly love this couple.

2. Kimber and Stormer from Jem and the Holograms

j4-1-1.jpg

I also considered Blaze, a trans* woman from Jem and the Holograms but I had to go with these two. I must have been 9 or 10 years old when I started watching Jem and the Holograms and then I saw the episode (season 2, episode 5) “The Bands Break Up” in which Kimber leaves Jem and the Holograms and Stormer leaves the Misfits. The two of them team up and form a band. They sound great together but from the moment I saw that episode…I shipped them. And so did other people, apparently, because an issue of the Jem and the Holograms comic came out and confirmed this ship. I absolutely love this pairing. The most misfitted Hologram and the most holographic Misfit. I always thought the Misfits and the Holograms could make beautiful music if they teamed up.

 

And now, my #1 favorite LGBT character ever. But first…the weather, er, I mean,

Honorable Mentions

Unknown-192.jpeg

Blaze from Jem and the Holograms – I was going to do Blaze, an awesome trans* girl, from Jem and the Holograms but I can’t do two (technically three) Jem characters and I just had to do Kimber and Stormer.

Unknown-194.jpeg

Kevin from Welcome To Night Vale – Kevin is the Desert Bluffs version of Cecil Palmer from Night Vale so it’s implied he’s most likely also gay, but to top it off he also shows attraction to Carlos. He’s a really interesting characters because of his strange and funny type of passive-aggressive horror and how the sun, light, and basically everything Kevin and Desert Bluffs represent is usually thought of as the good and the moon, dark, and what Cecil and Night Vale represent is usually thought of as the bad but in Night Vale it’s flipped. But still I couldn’t put Kevin on because of what I mentioned earlier with Blaze: I can’t do two (technically three) Night Vale characters.

 

And now…finally…my favorite LGBT+ character ever!

 

1. Cecil and Carlos from Welcome To Night Vale

ow-9091-1.png.jpeg

Ah, I was so tempted to put my own art for the photo but….my own art is just so bad. Welcome To Night Vale is a weird podcast about the radio station of a strange little town called Night Vale in which there are sometimes four suns, there’s a dog park that warps you to a strange desert otherworld if you go in it, and other strange things. The eccentric host, Cecil Palmer, is dating *cough cough* I mean, married to Carlos, his adorable scientist boyfriend. These two are so cute! Carlos comes on the show quite often and he’s a great character and, as Cecil says, he’s got great hair! These two are truly meant to be! Cecil manages to be strangely funny and creepy at the same time, yet kind of cute in a way. He’s clumsy and cowardice but it doesn’t matter because he just sends his interns to do the dirty work and get horrifically killed, sent to another universe, turned into something horrible, or numerous other horrific fates.

Leave a Reply

